South London producer SBTRKT will release his self-titled debut album next Monday 27 June  on CD and LP via Young Turks / Rhythmethod.

You’ve possibly heard this on the Bnet stations around the country and wondering.hmmm.. how can I get me  that? Well sir – here is your answer… – deeply funky!


SBTRKT’s (pronounced ‘subtract’) debut album pulls off a series of impressive feats: it’s bursting with fresh ideas but yet sounds immediately familiar. The album influences are incorporated with subtlety and sophistication: dense enough to interpret, light enough to dance to.

While massively prolific, a minimalist ethos runs through the work and style of SBTRKT, not just in his name but in the precision of the sonics and arrangements. SBTRKT has left his imprint on the UK music scene by seamlessly fusing Detroit techno, Berlin electro and classic 2-step into the thriving London dubstep scene, although this masked man fits comfortably in any category he wishes to occupy.

Named by NME as one of the top 50 artists to watch in 2011, SBTRKT is no stranger to writing, recording and releasing music. To date he’s releases singles and EPs on Brainmath, Numbers, Ramp, Monkeytown and now home label Young Turks. Add to that, re-workings of Radiohead and Goldie, and remixes of Modeselektor, M.I.A and Basement Jaxx.

While he has had multiple releases, this is SBTRKT’s first full-length album. Featuring collaborations with Sampha, Roses Gabor and Jessie Ware, the album also features Little Dragon and the imitable voice of Yukimi Nagano on single ‘Wildfire’.


“Great new weird and wonky Hottest Record from SBTRKT tonight. Featuring Little Dragon, ‘Wildfire’ is a great song adapted to the sub. Not the other way around. Which is nice.”

Zane Lowe, BBC Radio 1

“Little Dragon frontwoman Yukimi Nagano, transforms this track from just a deep and funky dancefloor burner into a next-level pop song surpassing just about anything you’ll catch on the radio these days”


1. Heatwave
2. Hold On (feat. Sampha)
3. Wildfire (feat. Yukimi Nagano and Little Dragon)
4. Sanctuary (feat. Jessie Ware and Sampha)
5. Trials Of The Past (feat. Sampha)
6. Right Thing To Do (feat. Jessie Ware)
7. Something Goes Right (feat. Sampha)
8. Pharoahs (feat. Roses Gabor)
9. Ready Set Loop
10. Never Never (feat. Sampha)
11. Go Bang

Oh since you’ve been so good – go on then- have a listen to the WHOLE album!!


Hoorah! for Hype Machine


SBTRKT – SBTRKT is out 27 June 2011 via Young Turks/Rhythmethod